SD Card Module (HCARDU0008)

Modules for interfacing including USB to serial and SD adaptors.
RMurphy195
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2022 3:16 pm

Re: SD Card Module (HCARDU0008)

Post by RMurphy195 » Sun Jan 22, 2023 5:54 pm

Had this knocking around in my bits box since I bought it a while back.

Worked OK no issues, didn't use a level shifter and it hasn't blown up yet, though I did connect it to a 3.3v supply from my Arduino, whether that makes a difference or not I don't know.

The card I used was an old Sandisc Ultra 2 1.0gb card which I used in a digital camera many moons ago (so you can tell how old it was!). Card details are
  • Card type: SD2
    Clusters: 246944
    Blocks x Cluster: 8
    Total Blocks: 1975552
    Volume type is: FAT32
    Volume size (Kb): 987776
    Volume size (Mb): 964
    Volume size (Gb): 0.94

Worked with both of the examples supplied, and with the "Cardinfo" sketch from the Arduino IDE examples folder. Also read and displayed text files from my laptop.

Probably worth noting that you are restricted to the old "8.3" format of file labelling (A C or C++ restriction I believe)!

Thanks for a really useful product -

andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: SD Card Module (HCARDU0008)

Post by andrew » Tue Jan 24, 2023 12:25 pm

Thanks for the information and feedback. Just one quick comment about not using level shifters, in my tests I've found that the card can randomly corrupt so I wouldn't use a card, or put anything on it I wouldn't want to lose.
Comments made by this poster do not necessarily reflect the views of Hobby Components Ltd.

RMurphy195
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2022 3:16 pm

Re: SD Card Module (HCARDU0008)

Post by RMurphy195 » Tue Jan 24, 2023 5:33 pm

andrew wrote:
Tue Jan 24, 2023 12:25 pm
Thanks for the information and feedback. Just one quick comment about not using level shifters, in my tests I've found that the card can randomly corrupt so I wouldn't use a card, or put anything on it I wouldn't want to lose.
Ah, thats whas happening! I've had file corruption a couple of times, fixed by reformatting the card but will need to do something for the onger-term project thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Adaptor”