SmartLCD and RTC

Forum for posting topics and questions about anything.
RetroBoy

SmartLCD and RTC

Post by RetroBoy » Sun Mar 06, 2022 5:28 pm

Hi to all.

Now I know this might seem / sound stipid to others, but to myself it is not.
I have the 1602 SmartLCD, I get to print various tthings OK.
I also have the DS3231 RTC, which again I get to print to the Serial Viewer. It also keeps time, battery installed.
My problem is no matter how many times I try to get it to print the Time / Date / etc to the LCD, it fails miserably.
Is there a Sketch which combines the 2 above things into 1 already available ?

( P.S. by fails I mean it won't even compile, I get errors like it cannot find the RTClib, if I am in the LCD section; and
vise-versa if I am in the RTC section. I am new to programming in C so any help would be v.appreciative )

andrew
Site Admin

Re: Hobby Components 1602 SmartLCD (HCMODU0122)

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 07, 2022 9:42 am

How do you have the LCD connected (i.e. passive, AT command, or I2C mode)?
Comments made by this poster do not necessarily reflect the views of Hobby Components Ltd.

RetroBoy

Post by RetroBoy » Mon Mar 07, 2022 11:39 am

Good Morning Andrew,

The RTC and SmartLCD are both I2C connected ( SCL & SDA ).
RTC 0x68 & LCD 0x27.

andrew
Site Admin

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 07, 2022 4:11 pm

I've pasted below an example of how you can do it. Note that I've made a minor update to the HCRTC library (V0.4) that allows you to directly pass the output the GetTimestring() function to the SmartLCDs print function. You'll need to download it (viewtopic.php?f=58&t=1357) and replace the version you currently have in your arduino/libraries folder.

1. #include "SmartLCDI2C.h"  
  2. #include <HCRTC.h>
  4. #define I2CDS3231Add      0x68
  5. #define SMARTLCD_I2C_ADD 0x27
  7. HCRTC     HCRTC;
  8. SmartLCD  SmartLCD(SMARTLCD_I2C_ADD);
  10. void setup()
  11. {
  12.   SmartLCD.init();  
  13.   SmartLCD.Clear();
  14. }
  16. void loop()
  17. {