4x4x4 Help.......

Forum for posting topics and questions about anything.
blackzakk

4x4x4 Help.......

Post by blackzakk » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:30 pm

Hi,
I'm no electrical engineer, just a 65 year old taking up kit making. Bought my first 4x4x4 blue and it worked like a dream. So, bought the red and it worked except for 4 LEDs. Took out the LEDs and replaced them, after checking they lit up, and now the 4 white light up but the cube gives me nothing. Nothing gets hot, checked no positives touching negatives. Even took those 4 out to see if I could get back to where I was but nothing.
I'm sure I have done something really stupid and I've looked at the schematic like a child looking at the Hadron Collider.
Can somebody point me in the right direction? I've thoroughly enjoyed putting the cubes together and even sent off for the green one for the set. So, I don't want to abandon this one.
Hope you electronic wizards can help.
Stay safe.

:D :D :D

andrew
Site Admin

Re: 4x4x4 Help.......

Post by andrew » Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:36 am

Nice to hear you enjoyed your first kit and I'm sure we can get to the bottom of your current problem. We recently had another customer posting on our blog site with the same symptoms as you, i.e. base LEDs working but nothing else. For him it turned out to be the soldering on the crystal but I'll cut and past my suggestions for what to look for here:

4x4x4_Cube.jpg
>I’m not getting any blinking when testing LEDs. The feet do light up.

As mentioned above the microcontroller comes with the demo sketch pre-installed so if you’re not seeing any blinking LEDs then this would suggest that the microcontroller is not running for some reason. The fact that the base LEDs are on tells me the cube is at least getting power but there could be a number of reasons why the microcontroller may not be running. I would first suggest checking the following things…

1) With the cube powered up is either IC getting hot to the touch?