Page 2 of 6

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 1:54 pm
by neilk48
And now I have solved it - my ethernet cable wasn't correctly plugged in to my hub - sorry!

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:32 pm
by andrew
Do you see any other LED's illuminated besides the ones you mentioned?

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:33 pm
by andrew
You just beat me to my conclusion :-)

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:23 pm
by Guest
thanks Andrew.

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:25 pm
by lloydwatkin
Hi,

Apologies for picking up on an old thread but I can't see a 'new post' button anywhere.

Experiencing the same issues as previous posters.

I have tried the provided example code and apart from a Serial.print line I added to setup() as a sanity check for it working I see nothing in the serial monitor.

I am using an Arduino Uno R3 (part of the Sparkfun inventors kit). The IP address is in range of my network and no conflict on IP or MAC.

On the shield itself I have the following 5 lights lit in orange: PWR, LINK, 100M, FULLD, GND/AREF (not sure what that one is related to)
The other three: COLL, TX, RX remain unlit.

The device is plugged directly into the router with a confirmed working cable (tried a couple). The transmit and receive lights will flash (seemingly) randomly, mostly together. Powered over USB.

If I check the logs on my router I don't see any entries (albeit its not great logging - Virgin Media Superhub).

Some other examples the device has seem to have connected but reports IP address as 0.0.0.0

Any advice/help greatly appreciated, happy to provide more info if required, cheers, Lloyd.

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:09 am
by andrew
From your description it sounds like the shield has connected to your router ok (at the MAC level at least). The Tx and Rx LED's flashing is a good sign and its perfectly normal for this to happen. So it looks like there's nothing wrong with your connection and the shield is talking to your router. That part of the interaction is done by the shield itself and doesn't require any interaction from your Arduino board. This helps narrow it down to either a faulty board or software. Can I confirm that you have tried the Analogue input sketch on this page? Whereabouts in the setup() function did you add your serial.print command?

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:12 pm
by Guest
Hi

Confirmed I tested the analog input script provided above.

The only change I made to the script was as follows (just as a sanity check):

[blockquote]
/* Start the Ethernet interface */
void setup()
{
//pinMode(53, OUTPUT); //Uncomment this line if using a Mega
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.print("Starting....");
Ethernet.begin(mac, ip);
server.begin();
}
[/blockquote]

I can confirm that on the back of the router the ethernet status light was on and solid apart from when it flickered in time with TX/RX on the shield itself.

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:19 pm
by Guest
Hi

Confirmed I tested the analog input script provided above.

The only change I made to the script was as follows (just as a sanity check):

[blockquote]
/* Start the Ethernet interface */
void setup()
{
//pinMode(53, OUTPUT); //Uncomment this line if using a Mega
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.print("Starting....");
Ethernet.begin(mac, ip);
server.begin();
}
[/blockquote]

I can confirm that on the back of the router the ethernet status light was on and solid apart from when it flickered in time with TX/RX on the shield itself.

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:20 pm
by lloydwatkin
Apologies, those repeated 'guest' posts were me.

Re: Arduino Ethernet W5100 Network Shield (HCARDU0034)

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:10 pm
by andrew
Ok, I don't see any obvious reason why it shouldn't be working. I just wan't to check a few more things:

Do you actually see the serial output from the line of code you added?
How are you powering the the two boards?
What IP address are you using?