Solder Iron

Forum for posting topics and questions about anything.
christinajane

Solder Iron

Post by christinajane » Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:33 pm

Hello,

I am COMPLETELY new to soldering and I just recently got a soldering kit for christmas.

It is a Maplin kit: [LINK REMOVED BY ADMIN]

I think the soldering iron is 30W.

I've done a little project with it and I was able to make it - it wasn't perfect though! HA

Anyway, when I used the soldering Iron again I noticed that the solder wasn't going on as easily and was instead balling up. Nor was the solder melting quick enough even after holding the Iron to the part for quite a long time in soldering iron terms.

I did tin the soldering iron the first time I used it.

I have done a bit of reading and it seems like the tip of the iron has oxidised?

Why has this happened exactly?

For future reference - in between soldering bits on a project do I just leave the iron on and in its holder until I am ready to use it again. Some articles were saying that you should switch it off - but obviously in between soldering bits on a project you may only need to put it down for 30 secs or so?

Maybe I left it too long in between soldering bits on the project and thats why its oxidised? Do you always need to tin the tip in between using it?

Just need some clarification...

Also - is this soldering iron not the best and should I possibly look for another one? I am just a beginner though, not sure what I should do. Not sure if I have messed the iron I have already up!

Thanks

Christina

andrew
Site Admin

Re: Solder Iron

Post by andrew » Mon Jan 23, 2017 10:45 am

I have done a bit of reading and it seems like the tip of the iron has oxidised?

Why has this happened exactly?
The most common cause is the soldering iron getting too hot for the solder but that said I wouldn't expect a 30W iron to be a problem. I don't see any temperature control on that iron but if it is adjustable you want the temperature to be around 350oC.