Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Logic Analyser not working 
Author Message

Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 4:58 pm
Posts: 2
Post Logic Analyser not working
Hello,

I am trying to use a recently purchased HOBBY COMPONENTS USB 8CH 24MHZ 8 CHANNEL LOGIC ANALYSER (Model HCTEST0006)
with Ardunio Uno

http://hobbycomponents.com/test/243-hob ... c-analyser

I have coded basic high low votage alternate pattern ( rectangle / square wave ) on Ardunio Uno and I could see the voltage going high and low via the multimeter at desired intervals. However I am unable to see the pattern via PulseView. I have adjusted the timings etc but no effect. More details below :

Operating System : Windows 10
Software : PulseView
Device Driver detected : fx2lafw (generic driver for fx2 based la )

Am I doing anything incorrect ? Is there a way I can test that the Logic Analyser is working ?

Thanks
RD


Sun May 15, 2016 5:13 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:15 pm
Posts: 627
Post Re: Logic Analyser not working
I assume that as you can see it changing state on a multimeter that the frequency of your square wave is very low, i.e. a few Hz or less? Can I also check the following things:

What pins have you connected to on the analyser?

Could you provide a screen capture of your PulseView window (ALT + PRT SC) or failing this answer the following questions:

Does PulseView see the analyser? It should say 'sigrok FX2 LA (8ch)' at the top of the PulseView window.

What do you have the number or samples and sample rate set to?

Do you see anything happen when you click the Run button?

_________________
Comments made by this poster do not necessarily reflect the views of Hobby Components Ltd.


Mon May 16, 2016 9:07 am
Profile

Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 4:58 pm
Posts: 2
Post Re: Logic Analyser not working
Hi Andrew,

Yes, to check it on multimeter the frequency is very low. Alternating pattern of high and low of 2 seconds each. I tried with other frequencies, and adjusting pulseview but could not see it.

Re: pin connection : I have connected CH0 of logic analyser to pin 8 of Ardunio and GND of logic analyser to GND of ardunio.
The pulseview seem to see the LA and it shows sigrok FX2 LA . Samples 1 M , Sample Rate 20 KHz

Screen Image when I press run : http://s32.postimg.org/hcmilfuxh/Pulse_View.jpg . There is no pattern on screen even if I use alternate channels.

Thanks
RD


Mon May 16, 2016 8:52 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:15 pm
Posts: 627
Post Re: Logic Analyser not working
Thanks for the information. It looks like PulseView is communicating with the analyser ok but something defiantly doesn't look right with it. Also with nothing connected to the pins they should default to being high but I can see that channels 3 to 7 are low. I think you may have a faulty analyser. I've found your order so I'm going to PM you with a solution.

_________________
Comments made by this poster do not necessarily reflect the views of Hobby Components Ltd.


Tue May 17, 2016 8:40 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Thank you to phpBB.com & phpBB.ro.
Design created by Florea Cosmin Ionut.
© 2011 All contents of this site are © Hobby Components LTD